Ginger Yummy Ginger Dressing

Its no secret, I love, I mean LOVE, Asian food. Thai, Japanese, Korean, Chinese, and Vietnamese. I haven’t found an Asian cuisine that I don’t adore! Salty, sour, sweet, spicy, occasionally fried, the heavenly combinations that I find in them are addicting! Unfortunately others in my family (cough cough my husband) don’t share in my obsession, and have to be “in the mood” for them. So I often resort to take out for lunch or I just make it myself. Today’s entrée is Ginger Dressing. I love it! I have had many varieties, some with miso, various vinegars, but you can’t beat the simple one that I made today that closely resembles the one you’ll find on your salad at a Japanese restaurant. The bottled versions in the supermarket can’t even begin to compare, and when you make it at home you can cut out the possibly gmo riddled soy sauce and go organic!

  I also happen to think nothing beats the ginger dressing carrot combo. I cut my carrots into little matchsticks, the better to absorb the dressing. One day I’ll get one of these spiraly doohickey deals https://www.buyspirooli.com/?mkwid=jLepUtI4|pcrid|1433133764|pkw|vegetable%20spiralizer|pmt|e|

Ginger Dressing

2/3 c olive oil

¼ cup grated Ginger (packed)*

2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 tsp salt

1 tsp black pepper

2 tsp organic sugar

½  cup organic soy sauce (I used Nama Shoyu)

½ cup white vinegar

1 cup sliced onion

Put all ingredients in the blender and blend till smooth. How easy is that? And most people with have the ingredients all ready in the house. Always a plus for me!

*freeze your ginger, it keeps fresher and grates way way more easily!

I like to make this salad with iceberg (oh the horror!) or Romaine lettuce, the aforementioned matchstick carrots, fresh tofu (when you can get it, the stuff is seriously mind blowing, one day I’ll figure out how to make it myself) chickpeas, and/or avocado. Simple and beyond heavenly! Also T man was totally stealing the ginger drenched carrots, so its toddler approved!

                       

Also if your curious about my other favorite ginger dressings, check out Moosewoods! Its made with Miso and delicious!

                Next post will be on acupuncture! I’m trying it out Saturday!

Leave a Reply

