Yankee Cornbread

Cornbread

Confession, I’m not southern. I live in South Florida, have solid southern stock on my mothers side (relatives cook with bacon grease and lard) but I’m a Yankee through and through. Raised mostly in NJ, with my father’s side around all the time, I’m a Jersey Girl. I love Bruce Springsteen. I get weepy when I hear the Sha la la la chorus in Jersey Girl, have ran in the Springlake 5 nearly every year since I was 18 (don’t do the math…STOP IT) pushed to run a little harder when I ran past the house blaring Born to Run. I’ve spent countless summers in Island Beach State Park, on the Seaside Boardwalk, Point Pleasant Boardwalk, viewing the Belmar St Patrick’s day parade. Heck I was the things damn princess one year.

Needless to say, my cornbread would be, by southern standards, a horror. Well you guys dip your pizza in ranch dressing, which is disgusting. If your pizza isn’t good enough to savor with nothing but a pinch of red pepper flakes, you shouldn’t be eating it.  It might not even be pizza. My cornbread is GOOD, Husband approved (raised in TX I think that somewhat legitimizes my cornbread), and super yummy. It’s also healthy, Slightly sweet and addictive!  I don’t make it often. It’s dangerous to have around the house, for instance the pan is almost gone.  Husband is away on business, so the reason it’s nearly gone is all on me. Oh well, it’s healthy, I’m pregnant, I have excuses. I also have been living on tomatoes, almost exclusively, the past 2 days so a little indulgence is ok, right? BTW we have great tomatoes from now till February, jealous?

Enjoy the cornbread!

 

Recipe

1c cornmeal

1 cup whole wheat flour (or spelt or a combo of oatflour and wheat or spelt)

1 cup canned coconut milk ( for best results use the canned its higher fat content yields a more               decadent taste)

1/3 cup organic brown sugar

1/3 cup coconut oil

1 flax egg ( you can get away with using a TBSP of corn flour and ¼ cup of water if you don’t have flax)*

1 TBSP baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

 Combine liquid ingredients. Combine dry ingredients. Combine them all, stir till just combined. Pour into a 8×8 baking dish, bake at 375 degrees for 25 minutes. See its simple, and pretty damn healthy.

*flax egg = 2 TBSP ground flax plus ¼ cup water

 

Leave a Reply

