What the Fudge

 

I fluked up my fudge. Ok not really, it’s still no fail fudge, but you need to use the actual ingredients.

Years ago I veganized the recipe that was on the marshmellow mallow fluff package. Marshmellow (mallow) fluff. It is delicious. It reminds me of my childhood. Every Christmas I looked forward to my mom cracker cookies (you know the recipe with saltines), her banana bread, my Grandma’s beautiful gingerbread houses (one of these days I’m going to learn her secrets) and my Mom’s fudge. It’s simple enough, but when I was at Whole Foods this week for my shopping, I couldn’t find Ricemellow fluff the vegan healthier alternative to the Kraft stuff. I was like no big whoop I’ll grab vegan marshmallows instead. yeah, they don’t quite work the same. When I got to the point in the recipe where you add the fluff, my mallows* didn’t melt, I had chopped them up, and they were not melting!! The horror! I had to put the whole pan back on low heat and work the heck out of them till I had one homogenized mixture. Luckily it worked out, but my arms were so sore, I had to cut my home practice short. It didn’t help that I was dead set on an arm balances day, either. It’s delicious still. I’m dying waiting for it to cool. I wanted to confess my near fail though, because I’ve never heard of one on a blog before. In the meantime I’m making tacos for our lunch, and then heading over to the Yoga Joint South to deliver some fudge and pick up some goodies. I always have my arms full when I am there so a separate shopping trip is called for! Here is “my”/ Krafts veganized fudge recipe.

Fudge

3 cups of sugar

¾ cup earth balance (I love the soy free its even closer to sweet fresh butter taste then the soy version)

2/3 cup coconut milk (full fat don’t be stingy, its fudge for Christmas sake)

7.9 oz of chocolate chips*

7 oz ricemellow fluff

2 tsp vanilla

Crushed walnuts (optional)

Combine the first 3 ingredients in a large heavy bottom sauce pot, heat on medium to a low boil, stirring the whole time, for 5 minutes or till your candy thermometer reaches 235. I love my thermometer. Remove from heat, add chocolate, stir till it’s all melted, add fluff and vanilla stir till combined. Pour into a 9x13inch baking dish lined with parchment, and for good measure (but optional) coconut oil. Top with optional crushed walnuts. Allow to cool, keep in the fridge. It’s sooooooooo good. And it’s simple, and nearly fool proof. So simple in fact I’ve only made it a few times, but it’s stuck in my head.

 

*Seriously why is spell check kicking my butt on this word, the things aren’t even made from mallow root anymore!

Leave a Reply

